Model assessment · Cleto Reyes

Cleto Reyes Hero Double Loop Boxing Gloves review

The E500 page names shorter cuffs, ergonomic hand placement and a double-contact hook-and-loop leather strap, with model-level bag and sparring claims. The official page and 2026 catalog list 12/14/16 oz, although the exact page's live selector omits 16 oz while its additional-information table lists it.

Sources checked 2026-11-02 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Pair of copper and Oxford-gray Cleto Reyes Hero Double Loop gloves; the image shows the front and broad double-contact strap side.
Official manufacturer image · Hero Double Loop E500 · Copper/Oxford Gray Exact Cleto Reyes Hero Double Loop E500 product-gallery image
A useful fit for

A buyer comparing a hook-and-loop training glove with a shorter-cuff description and model-level bag and sparring claims, who will verify the conflicting size presentation and gym rules before choosing an ounce label.

The main tradeoff

The page does not assign weights to sessions, identify a named wrist splint or describe the foam formula. Its current selector omits 16 oz even though the same page's additional information, 2026 catalog and E500_custom page list it; confirm the exact size in the seller's offer.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which ounce choices are supported for the E500 family?

The E500 selector shows 12 and 14 oz, but the same page's Additional Information table and the 2026 catalog also list 16 oz. The related E500_custom page provides a 12/14/16 oz selector. Treat 16 oz as a documented family option but confirm that exact size and SKU in the seller's current offer; none of the pages assigns an ounce to a session.

Explore this need in the finder →
What does the Hero Double Loop page document about its strap?

The page places E500 in the hook-and-loop training-glove category and describes a double-contact leather strap for secure fit and wrist support. It does not describe a named splint architecture, measured wrist stability or a lacing system. The double-loop name is not evidence of lace-up closure.

Explore this need in the finder →
What can a buyer customize on Customize Your Punch?

The related E500_custom listing offers 12, 14 and 16 oz and individual colors for the large mitt, small mitt, inner thumb, Hook & Loop zone and outline stitching. Those are color and finish choices; the source does not establish a different glove mechanism, padding recipe or size-by-session plan.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Cleto Reyes Hero Double Loop is the E500 hook-and-loop training glove on the exact product page. Its shorter-cuff and ergonomic-hand-placement descriptions are useful distinctions, but they are not measurements of cuff height or proof of a particular fit. This review is based on the manufacturer page, its 2026 catalog and the related E500_custom configuration listing; no glove was purchased, worn, measured or tested.

E500 identity and the ounce-selector discrepancy

The current E500 page lists three finishes—Copper/Oxford Gray, Oxford Gray/Silver and White Pearl/Silver—and shows 12 and 14 oz in the active weight selector. The same page's Additional Information table lists 12, 14 and 16 oz, and the 2026 catalog maps E512, E514 and E516 to those three ounce labels. A related E500_custom listing also offers 12, 14 and 16 oz. That supports 16 oz as an E500-family size, but the current E500 selector omission is real: confirm the exact size and SKU on the offer you intend to buy rather than treating one page element as a guarantee of availability.

Those are labeled glove sizes, not a hand-fit chart. The E500 page provides no body-weight bands, hand measurements or size-by-session table. Its selected ounce therefore cannot tell a buyer whether the glove fits over their wraps or satisfies a gym's sparring rule. Check those separately with the coach and seller, and verify the actual product code and finish in the cart.

What “Double Loop” describes here

The product page places E500 in the Hook and Loop Training Gloves category and describes a double-contact leather strap for secure fit and wrist protection. In this listing, “Double Loop” should not be read as lace-up: the exact product page identifies a contact strap, not laces. That makes the E500 a different closure arrangement from Cleto's traditional lace-up references, while its shorter cuff and ergonomic placement claims distinguish it from the standard E600 description.

The manufacturer uses broad support language but does not identify a foam splint, Dual-X framework or other named support structure. It mentions foam in its sparring description without specifying material, number of layers, density or any impact test. A buyer who needs a particular support architecture or documented padding technology should not infer it from “secure fit” or “foam.”

Materials and session language

The exact page describes natural leather and thermally embossed leather, but does not state a grain grade. That is not enough to label it full-grain. It also mentions a repellent lining without naming the fabric. Those details are more limited than the explicit technical claims available for some other Cleto models, so shoppers comparing material categories should check the precise wording rather than treat all leather or foam descriptions as interchangeable.

E500's description names sparring and punching-bag workouts at model level. The source does not assign 12, 14 or 16 oz to any one session, nor does it name pad work or partner drills as separate plans. If your coach has a specific sparring weight rule, follow it and confirm the E500 selector actually presents that size. The source's general activity statement is not a recommendation for a particular ounce or a guarantee that a gym will approve it.

How it compares with other Cleto references

Compared with the standard E600, the E500 page emphasizes a shorter cuff and ergonomic hand placement and does not offer an 18 oz size in its documented E500 family list. E600's own page names latex foam, an attached thumb and bag and sparring use; those claims should not be transferred to E500. High Precision E700 also describes a shorter cuff, but its page specifically names moldable padding and heavy-bag use. E500's source does not make those same claims.

These are wording and option differences, not comparative test findings. The pages do not report glove dimensions, hand-fit trials, impact measurements, long-term wear or controlled comparisons. The manufacturer's “lighter” language for Hero Double Loop is not paired with a measured weight or a comparison protocol. The product image shows the Copper/Oxford Gray pair and its strap layout, but cannot establish the selected size or how a particular hand will fit.

Configuration: Customize Your Punch (E500_custom)

The related Customize Your Punch page identifies SKU E500_custom and categorizes it with Hero Double Loop and customizable training gloves. It offers 12/14/16 oz and color choices across the Large Mitt, Small Mitt, Inner Thumb, Hook & Loop and Outline Stitching zones. The product page does not say that those appearance choices change the glove's closure mechanism, padding or training plan; treat them as finish options. Check whether the colors and stitching you select are applied symmetrically and review the seller's customization and return conditions before ordering.

The E500_custom gallery image is a marketing montage of several colored gloves, not a photo of one guaranteed combination. The standard Copper/Oxford Gray image is the product-page reference for E500, while the customization montage shows the nature of the appearance choices. Neither image is evidence of comfort, construction quality or protection.

Practical buying checks

Before selecting E500, confirm whether the seller is offering standard E500 or E500_custom, check the ounce and finish together, and resolve the standard page's 16 oz mismatch if that size matters. Ask the coach which session weights are permitted; the page does not assign them by task. Try the glove over your normal wraps if possible, and check return rules before choosing personalized colors. The exact E500 manufacturer page and its related E500_custom page are the best references for their separate selectors. No price, current stock, durability result, customer experience or hands-on fit claim is made here.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Listed glove weights12 / 14 / 16 oz
ClosureHook-and-loop strap
Knuckle paddingFoam; formula, layer count and density not specified
Outer materialNatural leather; grade not stated
LiningRepellent lining; textile composition not stated

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare the fit to your training

Use the finder to compare documented weight, closure, and use guidance; then confirm gym rules and exact seller details.

In this review