Model assessment · Cleto Reyes

Cleto Reyes Official Amateur Boxing Gloves review

The B910 Series product page lists 10 and 12 oz in Classic Red or Electric Blue, an elastic hook-and-loop strap, latex foam, water-repellent lining and an attached thumb. The page calls it USA Boxing approved, but a separate 2026 catalog gives a conflicting B910/B912 12/14/16 oz listing.

Sources checked 2026-10-31 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Pair of red Cleto Reyes Official Amateur gloves with an amateur label and 10 oz marking; one shows the front and one the cuff.
Official manufacturer image · B910 Series Classic Red Cleto Reyes USA product gallery image
A useful fit for

A buyer seeking a maker-labeled amateur-competition glove with an explicitly listed 10 or 12 oz selector and hook-and-loop fastening, after confirming the event's current approved equipment and weight rules.

The main tradeoff

The product page and 2026 catalog disagree on available B910/B912 weights. Neither version should be inferred from the other's code; the product page does not give bag, pad or sparring guidance, a hand-size chart, or a named wrist splint.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which size options does the B910 Series product page show?

The exact page selector lists 10 and 12 oz. A separately linked 2026 Cleto catalog describes B910/B912 as 12, 14 and 16 oz, so the sources conflict; check the exact code and size in the current offer instead of treating the catalogue range as a page option.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I rely on the USA Boxing wording as current event clearance?

The manufacturer product page says the glove is USA Boxing approved for amateur and Olympic competition requirements. That is a manufacturer statement, not independent verification of a current event list or the correct weight/color; confirm those details with the coach, event official or governing organization.

Explore this need in the finder →
What construction does the official amateur page actually specify?

It names an elastic hook-and-loop strap, latex-foam padding, water-repellent lining and an attached thumb. It does not describe a specific wrist splint, leather grain grade or bag/pad/sparring use by size.

Explore this need in the finder →

A competition-labelled glove with a source conflict

The exact page identifies the Cleto Reyes Official Amateur Boxing Gloves as the B910 Series. Its size selector currently lists 10 and 12 oz in Classic Red or Electric Blue. The page says the gloves are designed and approved by USA Boxing for amateur and Olympic competition requirements. That is the manufacturer’s claim, not independent confirmation that this precise model, color and weight is currently permitted at a particular event. If you are buying for a bout, ask the coach or event official to confirm the current approved equipment list and the weight assignment before selecting a color or size.

There is a material discrepancy: Cleto Reyes’s separately linked 2026 catalog describes B910/B912 gloves in 12, 14 and 16 oz, while the exact product page labels its selector B910_Series and lists 10 and 12 oz. The sources do not explain whether this reflects a catalog revision, a different version or a page error. This review preserves the direct selector as the narrowest current product-page evidence and does not combine the ranges. Check the exact model code and size shown in the seller’s cart; do not infer that every B910/B912-labelled offer has the same configuration.

What the maker specifies

The page calls out an elastic strap with hook-and-loop closure, latex-foam padding, water-repellent lining and an attached thumb. Its wording makes a general wrist-support claim, but it does not identify a splint design, give cuff dimensions or describe a hand-circumference chart. “Natural leather” is used, without a leather-grade statement. Likewise, latex foam is not the same evidence as a stated multi-layer, injection-molded or multi-density construction. The findings here stay at the level of the named components.

None of these features supplies a measured impact result or proves fit for a wrapped hand. A quick fastening system may be easier to put on than a lace-up glove, but the source provides no timing comparison. The red gallery image shows the amateur label and a USA Boxing patch; it is useful for model identification, not proof of current event clearance or a performance test.

Competition is not a bag-work chart

The product page focuses on amateur competition. It does not name heavy-bag sessions, pad work, partner drills or sparring as uses, and it does not assign its displayed sizes to those activities. For that reason, this assessment does not treat the B910 page as a documented bag or sparring recommendation simply because gloves in general can be used in more than one setting. The finder can compare the exact weight and closure fields, but its session result should not be read as event eligibility.

Competition rules can depend on the organizer, division, weight class, equipment list and current rules. The source page’s statement should prompt a verification, not replace it. A buyer who wants a practice pair as well as an event pair should confirm that the coach approves the exact size for each separate purpose.

Compare it with training models by task

The amateur model is distinct from Cleto’s Professional B200, Safetec B400 and Traditional Training E400 listings. Those pages have their own product codes and use or weight descriptions. The Amateur page’s defining emphasis is competition; it does not offer the same activity detail as the training models. It is also not interchangeable with the Rarity E600R4, E600 Hook and Loop or E700 High Precision listings simply because all use a strap that closes with hook and loop. Their available weights, stated uses and padding descriptions differ.

For fit, weight is not a hand measurement. A listed 10 or 12 oz glove can still feel too tight or too loose with a particular wrap. The seller’s size selector and the buyer’s actual wrapped-hand fit should be checked independently of the competition claim.

Purchase checks

Before choosing the B910 Series, verify the exact model code and the size actually shown in the current offer, because the page and 2026 catalog disagree. Confirm with the event authority whether this product and size are accepted for the intended competition, and check whether the event specifies color. Inspect the wrap fit and the seller’s return terms; do not assume that general wrist-support language means a named splint or medical protection.

This review is desk research from manufacturer information. No gloves were bought, worn or tested. It does not verify a current USA Boxing equipment approval independently, measure comfort or protection, or resolve the conflict between the exact product-page selector and the separate catalog.

Condition-specific display listing

The US storefront also listed an Electric Blue, 10 oz Official Amateur glove as a display item marked used once. Its product page gave SKU B910ZUBD, identified a moderate-display condition grade, and marked the offer final sale. The base Official Amateur page includes Electric Blue and 10 oz among its options, so this is a condition-specific B910 configuration rather than a separately evidenced glove design. The display page repeats generic new-glove language, but that does not override its specific used/display title and condition label.

This review and its central buying assessment concern the named Official Amateur model, not the condition of an individual display pair. No conclusion about wear, integrity, fit, or event eligibility can be made from the text description; the one-off condition should not be treated as interchangeable with a new pair. If comparing such a listing, verify the exact code, condition details, size and return terms directly with the seller. The linked display gallery could not be locally inspected, so its photographs are not used as evidence here.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Listed glove weights10 / 12 oz
ClosureHook-and-loop strap
Knuckle paddingLatex foam
Outer materialnatural leather; grade not stated
Liningwater-repellent; fabric composition not stated
Attached thumbYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare the fit to your training

Use the finder to compare documented weight, closure, and use guidance; then confirm gym rules and exact seller details.

In this review