Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What does the Safetec page say about its foam and use?
The page names dense two-layer foam and padding across the front, back and wrist; it also mentions bag or mitt work and sparring at the model level. It does not connect a particular ounce size to a session or provide measured protection results.
Explore this need in the finder →Which Safetec sizes are listed, and how are they tied to body weight?
The selector lists 8 and 10 oz. The page associates 8 oz with 105–147 lb and 10 oz with 154 lb and up, leaving 148–153 lb unaddressed; this is not a size-by-session recommendation.
Explore this need in the finder →Is Safetec's wrist padding a published splint architecture?
No. The page says the wrist area is padded and names a Thumb Lock feature, but it does not document single-layer foam splinting, Dual-X/four Fusion splints or Dual-X/triple splints.
Explore this need in the finder →Cleto Reyes Safetec is presented on the brand's US product page as a training glove with 8 and 10 oz options. The page describes dense two-layer foam, padding across the front, back and wrist, and a named Thumb Lock feature. It also mentions bag or mitt work and sparring at the model level. This assessment treats those as the manufacturer's published descriptions; it is not a test of impact, hand alignment, protection or fit.
Two layers are a construction description, not a result
The exact page's two-layer wording is more specific than a generic foam description and can help distinguish Safetec from models whose pages do not name a layer count. The product text also says the glove is padded on both faces and through the wrist area. It offers no test method, force measurement or comparative data, so the design language cannot be translated into a claim that one glove is safer or absorbs more impact than another.
Safetec's page calls out a Thumb Lock feature, but it does not explain that feature with a published architecture or a measured injury-prevention result. Its wrist-area padding is not the same as documentation for the questionnaire's single-layer foam splint, Dual-X with four Fusion splints or Dual-X with triple splints. Those named structures remain unverified for this model.
Use language is broad, while the size chart is not
The page mentions bag and mitt work and a sparring session for the model. Its selector lists 8 and 10 oz, but it does not connect either size to one activity. A finder match therefore reflects the combination of model-level use language and a listed weight, not an assertion that the maker assigned that weight to sparring or that every gym accepts it. Ask the coach which size is required and confirm approval for the exact glove.
The same page gives a body-weight note: 8 oz is associated with 105–147 lb and 10 oz with 154 lb and up. It leaves 148–153 lb without a published recommendation. That interval should not be filled by guesswork, and the note is not a session chart. Ounces also do not tell you the glove's interior fit; test the selected size with your usual wraps if possible.
Closure and material details need careful reading
The product image linked from the exact Safetec page visibly shows a lace-up cuff. The descriptive product copy does not separately name the closure mechanism, so a buyer should verify that the selected live offer matches the image and listing before ordering. Laces take setup time and may require help from another person. The page identifies the exterior as leather but gives no grain grade; that does not establish full-grain leather. It does not specify a lining composition either.
Full padding and a Thumb Lock feature are not a substitute for checking glove fit, wraps, gym rules or coach guidance. The product page does not publish a sizing measure for palm or hand circumference, care instructions in the captured content, or durability figures. Color and finish can vary; if the image is important to the order, confirm the exact variant and return terms.
Who should compare Safetec
This model is worth comparing when two-layer foam, visible lace-up construction and model-level bag, mitt or sparring language are all relevant. It is less useful as a source for a size-specific session decision: the 8/10 oz selector and the activities appear separately, without a chart linking them. It also cannot be matched to the listed wrist-splint architectures or a leather-grade preference on the evidence reviewed.
The black official image shows the product, not a person wearing it and not a performance result. No hands-on review, measurement, controlled test or customer-experience summary is included here. Before choosing, confirm the exact weight and closure, try with wraps, obtain the coach's approval, and check the current seller, color, customization and return terms. A live product page is not a guarantee that a particular size is in stock.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Listed glove weights | 8 / 10 oz |
|---|---|
| Closure | Lace-up |
| Knuckle padding | Multi-layer foam |
| Outer material | leather; grade not stated |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Compare the fit to your training
Use the finder to compare documented weight, closure, and use guidance; then confirm gym rules and exact seller details.
