Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What session does Everlast name for Core 2?
The product page says to use it for mitt work and calls it suitable for fitness training and boxing classes. That supports pad work in the finder. It does not name heavy-bag rounds, partner drills or sparring, so those uses are not inferred.
Explore this need in the finder →What sizes can I actually select?
The exact product endpoint shows S/M and L/XL in White, Black and Red, with six mapped SKUs. The separate generic chart has overlapping ounce bands but its labels do not map the L/XL selector to an exact ounce option; no 12 oz, 14 oz or other exact-weight match is claimed.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the closure a wrist wrap or an adaptive strap?
Everlast specifies a full wrist-wrap strap with hook-and-loop closure. It does not specify the questionnaire's adaptive-stretch strap or one of the listed wrist-splint constructions; a closure label is not a support-quality measurement.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the page identify a particular foam technology?
No. It says superior foam construction but does not state that the foam is multi-layer, injection-molded, multi-density or 3D printed. The finding stays unknown instead of inferring a type from the glove's price positioning or appearance.
Explore this need in the finder →Which leather category does Core 2 use?
The exact page says premium synthetic leather, without naming full-grain, Vylar or PU engineered leather. The finder does not assign one of those narrower materials based on generic synthetic-leather wording.
Explore this need in the finder →Everlast’s Core 2 Training Glove is an entry-level model whose product page is clear about one task and less specific about several others. It names mitt work and boxing classes, offers a full wrist-wrap strap with hook-and-loop closure, and describes the shell generically as synthetic leather. The exact selector uses S/M and L/XL across three colors; it does not provide a verified ounce choice for each variant. This is a source-based assessment, not a fit trial, durability test or claim of ownership.
A narrow but useful training description
The page opens with “Light up those mitts” and says the glove is ideal for fitness training and boxing classes. That is a practical basis for including Core 2 in a pad-work search: the manufacturer does name mitts. It does not name heavy-bag use, partner drills or sparring. This absence is not the same as a prohibition, but a broad “training glove” label should not be turned into a recommendation for every activity. If the class involves contact, check the coach’s equipment rules and use a model with an explicit, suitable session description.
Everlast also calls this an entry-level choice for athletes getting into boxing shape. That positioning can help identify the intended audience, but it does not tell a buyer how the glove will feel on a particular hand or how its padding will respond over time. The page’s marketing language about durability, speed and power is not independent performance evidence.
Six color-and-size SKUs, not six ounce choices
The official selector and variant data map White, Black and Red in S/M and L/XL. The six SKU pairs are White 009283608712 and 009283608729; Black 009283608736 and 009283608743; Red 009283635329 and 009283635336. These are exact size labels and color variants, not weights. The product page also displays a general hand and body-weight chart with overlapping ounce bands and columns labelled S, S/M, M/L and L. It does not map the L/XL selector to an exact ounce option or give a Core 2 SKU for each listed ounce. For that reason, this assessment does not treat 12 oz, 14 oz or another band as a verified model size.
Before ordering, compare the exact product name and S/M or L/XL label, check the available color, and use the hand-measurement method the manufacturer provides. A generic chart is only a starting point; it is not a measurement of the glove’s internal fit, and it does not replace the size required by a coach or class.
Closure and support are separate questions
Core 2’s page explicitly says “full wrist wrap strap with hook and loop closure.” That supports a hook-and-loop preference more specifically than a page that merely mentions a strap. Everlast also describes the wrap as intended for wrist stability and secure fit, but it does not name a specific foam splint or the site’s other listed support constructions. A closure type tells you how the glove fastens; it does not establish support quality or prevent injury.
The exact page identifies premium synthetic leather and says the glove has a superior foam construction. It does not specify whether that synthetic leather is full-grain, Vylar or PU engineered leather, or whether the foam is multi-layer, injection-molded or multi-density. The page also names an antimicrobial treatment and claims odor-related benefits. Those statements are the manufacturer’s claims; they are not a measured cleanliness, airflow or durability result. The detail missing here is useful: buyers who require a particular foam or shell material should compare a model whose exact product page names it rather than infer the type from the Core label.
How it differs from Protex
Protex is another current Everlast glove, but it has a different selector and construction story. Its official page lists 12 oz and 16 oz, uses a hybrid lace-and-hook-and-loop closure, and names injection-molded foam; it does not name a particular session. Core 2 instead names mitt work and boxing classes, uses S/M and L/XL sizes, and clearly specifies a hook-and-loop wrap strap while leaving foam type unspecified. Neither product page establishes comparative comfort, longevity, fit or measured impact. Choose between their documented facts, not an assumed price-to-performance ladder.
Who should keep it on the shortlist
Core 2 can make sense to examine if your main task is mitt work in a fitness or boxing class, and a hook-and-loop full wrist-wrap strap is what you want. It is a less complete evidence match if you need an exact ounce size, a named padding technology, a specified leather category, a particular wrist splint or explicit sparring guidance. Check the exact S/M or L/XL listing, intended color, seller’s variant label and return terms. The image is a visual identity reference; it cannot confirm the glove’s scale, fit or construction quality. No glove was purchased, worn, weighed or tested for this review.
Sources checked 2026-11-01: Everlast’s exact Core 2 US product page and official variant data. Everlast’s Protex page is cited only for the product comparison above.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Listed glove weights | oz |
|---|---|
| Listed size labels | S/M / L/XL |
| Closure | Hook-and-loop strap |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Core 2 Training Glove — exact Everlast US product page
- Core 2 Training Glove — official Everlast US variant data
- Everlast US Boxing Gloves collection, page 2 — observed listing bridge
- Core 2 Training Glove — exact official product-gallery image
- CPSC exact-name recall query — Core 2 Training Glove
- Protex Boxing Gloves — exact Everlast US page used for direct model comparison
Compare the fit to your training
Use the finder to compare documented weight, closure, and use guidance; then confirm gym rules and exact seller details.
