Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Which weights and uses are listed for E1 Leather?
The exact page lists 12, 14 and 16 oz and describes bag work, pads and sparring for the model. It does not state a different use for each weight, so confirm the exact size with the coach or gym.
Explore this need in the finder →Does E1 Leather meet a full-grain leather preference?
Yes. The product page explicitly states 100% full-grain leather. The page does not establish a measured break-in time, service life, or hand-specific comfort outcome.
Explore this need in the finder →Is E1 Leather's dual-splinted support the same as Dual-X with four Fusion splints?
That equivalence is not established. The exact page says dual-splinted support but does not identify Dual-X or count four Fusion splints; it separately specifies injection-molded knuckle foam.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hayabusa E1 Leather is a separate E1 edition with a 100% full-grain leather shell, 12, 14 and 16 oz sizes, injection-molded foam knuckle protection and dual-splinted wrist support. The exact page says it is for bag work, pads and sparring, but it does not give a different use for each ounce size. This is a source-based assessment, not a personal wear test; I have not evaluated its break-in, fit, padding response or durability.
What makes this E1 a separate model
The product page names four colors—Onyx Black, Sienna Brown, Canyon Red and Dusk Blue—and lists 12, 14 and 16 oz. It is not the adult E1 page, which has a different selector and different shell evidence, and it is not E1 Kids, which is a 6/8 oz youth product. Treating the family name alone as a full specification would blur material and use differences. Confirm the “E1 Leather” suffix and the exact selected size when comparing seller listings.
The key material distinction is unusually clear: the manufacturer calls the outer shell 100% full-grain leather in the introductory text and Specifications. That supports a buyer who specifically wants that material description, but it does not prove a longer lifespan, a particular break-in period or a more comfortable fit. No such outcome is measured or established on the product page. Leather can still require care, and the page does not provide an individual use-life estimate.
Weights and sessions
The page lists three sizes, 12, 14 and 16 oz, and says the model is for bag work, pads and sparring. Unlike the adult E1 product page, which states that sparring begins at 16 oz or above, E1 Leather has no page-specific weight threshold. The wording is at model level. The finder therefore recognizes each listed size alongside the stated activities, while the article does not claim that every gym will approve every size for sparring.
For partner contact, follow the coach or gym's required weight and glove rules. If they require a size other than 12, 14 or 16 oz, this exact selector does not offer it. An ounce value describes the listed glove weight, not palm circumference or finger-pocket space; try the glove with your wraps if possible. If your coach assigns different gloves for bag rounds and sparring, follow those instructions even though the product page names both uses.
Support, knuckle foam and the stretch strap
The E1 Leather page specifies dual-splinted support and injection-molded foam for the knuckles. It does not call the wrist system Dual-X or identify four Fusion splints. “Dual-splinted” should therefore stay a broader description, not become a match for a more exact four-splint option. Likewise, the product page calls the cuff a single stretch strap but does not identify the closure hardware as hook-and-loop or use the exact adaptive-stretch label in the finder. If either mechanism is essential, seek confirmation rather than translating similar language into a specific category.
The page also describes an ergonomic thumb position, a microfiber thumb intended to wipe sweat, a smooth inner lining and breathable ventilation. No lining fiber is named, and there is no measured temperature, drying or impact result. Marketing statements about alignment and comfort are not independent demonstrations that the glove will prevent injury or suit every hand. Fit should be checked, not presumed from the full-grain shell or wrist-support wording.
Compare the material with the construction, not the price
Among the reviewed Hayabusa models, E1 Leather joins T3 LX and T360 Leather as a full-grain option, but the related construction is not identical. The T3 LX page describes multi-layer foam and its own use-by-weight arrangement; T360 Leather names multi-density padding, a Dual-X triple-splint system and specific weight/use groupings. E1 Leather instead states injection-molded knuckle foam, dual-splinted support without a named system, and a single stretch strap without further closure classification. Those specific differences are more useful than assuming that every leather edition behaves alike.
Compared with the adult E1, this model adds an explicit full-grain outer material and its own 12–16 oz selector. The adult E1 page leaves shell material unspecified and sets out a separate 16 oz sparring threshold. E1 Kids is a different 6/8 oz model with layered foam and no sparring statement. These are separate assessments, not packages or variants that inherit every family feature.
Checks before purchase
Confirm the listing title says E1 Leather, the color is one of the four named choices, and the size is 12, 14 or 16 oz. Verify the selected variant in the cart and check seller/return terms. Ask the coach or gym before choosing it for sparring, especially if the club has a minimum weight or approved-glove list. Try it with the wraps you expect to use. If you require a precisely named Dual-X support system or known strap hardware, ask the maker to verify that exact detail: the page only says dual-splinted and single stretch strap.
The evidence-based appeal is straightforward: a distinct full-grain E1 shell, exact adult weights and a manufacturer-stated bag/pad/sparring use. The limitation is also clear: no activity-by-weight map, no numerical hand-fit data, and no specific Dual-X or closure mechanism. Those gaps should remain part of the buying decision rather than being filled by assumptions about the E1 family.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Listed glove weights | 12 / 14 / 16 oz |
|---|---|
| Closure | Single stretch strap unspecified |
| Wrist-support structure | Dual splinted support |
| Knuckle padding | Injection-molded knuckle foam |
| Outer material | full-grain leather |
| Lining | smooth inner lining; fiber not specified |
| Microfiber wipe thumb | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Compare the fit to your training
Use the finder to compare documented weight, closure, and use guidance; then confirm gym rules and exact seller details.
