Model assessment · Hayabusa

Hayabusa E1 Boxing Gloves review

An adult closed-thumb model with injection-molded knuckle foam, a single stretch strap, and 10–18 oz options; the manufacturer names bag work and pads generally and specifies sparring from 16 oz.

Sources checked 2026-10-30 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Pair of white and silver Hayabusa E1 adult boxing gloves with closed thumbs and single stretch cuffs.
Official manufacturer image · E1 White/Silver Hayabusa official product image
A useful fit for

A boxer seeking the E1 page's single stretch strap and injection-molded knuckle protection, with bag and pad use at listed sizes and the maker's sparring designation limited to 16 oz or above.

The main tradeoff

The page does not identify the shell material, the exact wrist-splint system/count, or whether the stretch strap uses a hook-and-loop fastener; those unknowns should not be treated as a match to a more specific feature request.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

At what size does the E1 page include sparring in its use description?

The product page says bag work, pads, and sparring, with the sparring range starting at 16 oz. It lists 16 and 18 oz; ask your gym whether that exact model and weight are accepted.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I filter the adult E1 for injection-molded knuckle foam?

Yes. The exact adult E1 product page calls its knuckle protection injection-molded foam. That describes the named construction, not a measured impact or fit result.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the E1 stretch strap the same as a hook-and-loop or adaptive strap?

The page calls it a single stretch strap but does not identify its fastening hardware or use the exact adaptive-stretch-strap label. The finder therefore does not treat it as verified for either specific closure requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →

The adult Hayabusa E1 is a 10–18 oz boxing glove with a single stretch strap, injection-molded knuckle foam, and an explicit use boundary: the product page lists bag work and pads generally, then adds sparring at 16 oz or above. That last clause changes how I would read the selector. A 10 or 14 oz option is not a documented sparring match on this page; the listed 16 and 18 oz choices are.

This review is based on current manufacturer specifications, not an in-person test. I have not worn the glove, assessed its pocket fit, measured wrist stability, or tested its padding. The features below describe the product page rather than a result for a particular buyer.

Keep the adult E1 distinct from other E1 names

The adult E1 page has a selector for 10, 12, 14, 16, and 18 oz and six colorways. It links separately to E1 in 6 and 8 oz, and Hayabusa also lists E1 Kids and E1 Leather as other named products. This assessment covers the adult “E1 Boxing Gloves” page only. It does not transfer the leather materials, youth sizing, or any other E1-family claim to this model.

The page describes a single stretch strap and dual-splinted wrist support. It does not name Dual-X, count the splints, or say that the strap uses hook-and-loop hardware. “Stretch strap” is useful but not precise enough to confirm either the hook-and-loop category or the separate adaptive-stretch-strap option in this finder. I leave that classification open rather than treating similar wording as proof of identical mechanics.

Use the page's 16 oz sparring boundary

For bag work and pads, the product page's “Great For” line names both activities without restricting them to a particular ounce choice. Its sparring note is narrower: the page attaches 16 oz or above to sparring. That supports the 16 and 18 oz E1 options in a sparring search while keeping 10, 12, and 14 oz out of that specific plan. This is the manufacturer's published statement, not a universal rule for boxing gyms or a claim that every boxer should spar in the same size.

Ask your coach what glove is approved for the class, and confirm that the exact seller listing is the adult E1 in that weight. A light glove may be used for one activity and not accepted for another. The weight label does not tell you whether the pocket will fit your hand or wraps, and the page does not provide a hand-circumference range. If the gym changes the assignment for drills, bag rounds, or partner work, follow that instruction rather than assuming the product title is enough.

Padding and wrist support: useful details, limited specificity

The E1 page calls its knuckle protection injection-molded foam and also describes the padding as pillowy or cloud-like. Injection-molded is the specific construction label used for the finder. The soft-sounding language is not a tested softness measurement and does not establish a multi-layer or multi-density foam arrangement. Buyers who want a particular construction can compare those explicit labels with the detailed T3 or T360 specifications, but should not assume that visual bulk or marketing adjectives mean the same technology.

The wrist copy says “dual splinted support,” and Hayabusa also describes the gloves as keeping the wrist aligned. No specific splint system or count is supplied on the adult E1 page. That is why the E1 should not be counted as Dual-X with four Fusion splints merely because the phrase includes “dual.” Similarly, the exact shell material is not named on the page I inspected. The unknowns remain unknown rather than being filled from a nearby E1 product or a different Hayabusa line.

The listing does mention an ergonomic thumb position, a microfiber thumb intended for wiping sweat, breathable mesh, and a smooth inner lining. These are practical features to check against your preferences, but they cannot predict how hot or comfortable the glove will feel after repeated rounds. The lining fiber is not stated, and no ventilation or drying test is published.

How it compares with neighboring choices

Standard S4 is a single-strap model with published single-layer foam splinting and injection-molded knuckle foam, but its page does not give the E1's 16 oz-and-up sparring note. T3 names a dual hook-and-loop system, four Fusion splints, and separate size-by-use guidance. E1 sits between those descriptions in a narrower evidentiary sense: the maker states dual splints and a stretch strap, but without the exact construction detail used for T3.

That is not a ranking. If an essential feature is a confirmed fastening type, wrist-support system, or outer material, compare against the product page that actually names it. If your priority is simply bag work, pads, and a maker-labeled sparring option at 16 oz or above, E1 has an explicit public statement to consider. Neither the feature list nor its beginner/intermediate label guarantees fit, performance, or gym approval.

Checks before buying

Verify that the offer is the adult E1 page rather than E1 Kids or E1 Leather; confirm the color and selected 10–18 oz size; check the glove over your wraps; and ask your coach whether that exact size is accepted for the session. The reviewed image is the White/Silver adult E1 product reference, not a test photo or an assurance about the seller's stocked color. My practical conclusion is that E1's clearest advantage in the written specifications is a distinct 16 oz sparring boundary alongside bag and pad use. Its strap mechanics, precise splint design, and shell material remain less fully documented than those of some neighboring models.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Listed glove weights10 / 12 / 14 / 16 / 18 oz
Knuckle paddingInjection-molded knuckle foam
Liningsmooth inner lining; fiber not stated
Attached thumbYes
Microfiber wipe thumbYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare the fit to your training

Use the finder to compare documented weight, closure, and use guidance; then confirm gym rules and exact seller details.

In this review