Model assessment · Hayabusa

Hayabusa Pro Boxing Gloves review

A closed-thumb glove in 8–20 oz options with a single hook-and-loop strap, top-grain cowhide shell, and layered pillowy knuckle padding whose foam composition and layer count are not specified on the product page.

Sources checked 2026-10-30 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Pair of black Hayabusa Pro Boxing Gloves with attached thumbs and single hook-and-loop cuffs.
Official manufacturer image · Pro Black Hayabusa official product image
A useful fit for

A buyer looking for a traditional single hook-and-loop strap, a top-grain cowhide shell, and a manufacturer-described heavy-bag or sparring glove, after checking the exact size with their gym.

The main tradeoff

The product page does not connect each ounce option to a particular session or identify the wrist-support structure; its layered knuckle padding is not specific enough to verify a multi-layer-foam or multi-density requirement.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which sizes does Hayabusa list for Pro Boxing Gloves?

The US product selector lists 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 oz. The page does not assign a specific size to each activity; follow your coach or gym for sparring and confirm the actual option in the seller listing.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the Pro page name both heavy-bag and sparring use?

Yes. Hayabusa describes the Pro as suitable for heavy bags and sparring, but does not give a size-by-session table. Its general guide puts 16, 18, and 20 oz in its sparring range; confirm the particular size with your gym.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the Pro's top-grain leather full-grain?

The product page says top-grain cowhide. That is a different grain designation from full-grain, so the full-grain-only finder choice does not include this model.

Explore this need in the finder →

Hayabusa's Pro Boxing Gloves use a traditional single hook-and-loop strap and a top-grain cowhide shell, with selector options from 8 through 20 oz. The product page calls them suitable for heavy bags, sparring, and professional training. It does not connect each weight to a specific session, however. The general Hayabusa glove guide recommends 16, 18, and 20 oz for sparring, so that broader company guidance can help frame a shortlist—but it is not a Pro-specific weight chart or a substitute for gym approval.

This assessment is based on published specifications, not on wearing or testing the glove. I have not measured its fit, checked the wrist in motion, tested the padding, or evaluated its service life. The product page's labels identify materials and features, not how they perform for every boxer.

Which “Pro” model is this?

The product title is simply “Pro Boxing Gloves.” Hayabusa's catalog also has Pro Lace Boxing Gloves and Pro Horsehair Fight Boxing Gloves. Those are separate named models, not closures or padding configurations to blend into this review. The page reviewed here offers black, white, red, and blue versions in 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 oz. A retailer title that omits the closure or says only “Pro” deserves an exact-model check before purchase.

The official image on this page shows the black version. It is a product reference for the hook-and-loop model, not evidence of a particular size or a photograph of use. Confirm color and ounce selection in the live offer; neither a current catalog card nor this review guarantees seller availability.

Top-grain leather and layered padding

Hayabusa names the outer shell as supple top-grain cowhide. That is not the same specification as full-grain leather, so a buyer who needs full-grain specifically should not count this as a match. The page also identifies a silky nylon lining, an attached thumb, an ergonomic thumb position, a foam grip bar, and a microfiber carrying bag lined with nylon.

The knuckle description is “soft, pillowy” layered padding. Although the word layered appears, the product page does not identify the padding as foam or give a layer count. I therefore do not translate that phrase into the questionnaire's multi-layer-foam or multi-density options. Likewise, the page does not state a wrist-support structure. Buyers seeking a named splint arrangement should compare products whose documentation actually supplies one rather than infer wrist construction from the single closure strap.

These limits are meaningful. A material or padding label can answer what the maker says it used, but not how the glove feels under pressure or whether it suits an injury history. The published page does not provide independent impact data, fit measurements, or evidence that one padding style prevents injury. If comfort or joint support is a critical concern, a glove's feature name should not replace a fitting session with a qualified coach or clinician.

Heavy bags and sparring are not the same weight choice

The product page explicitly names heavy-bag work and sparring. Its selector spans a broad 8–20 oz range, but it does not say that every size is intended for every activity. Hayabusa's general buying guide says glove ounces refer to the glove's weight and presents 16, 18, and 20 oz as its general sparring range. Reading those pages together supports a cautious scenario: the Pro page supplies the product's sparring use, while the company guide supplies the general size boundary. That is the basis for treating 16–20 oz as the more defensible sparring set in this library.

For heavy-bag work, the Pro page's broad use statement is not a prescribed bag-weight chart. The selector's 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 oz options are all documented, but choosing among them still depends on your training plan, gym instructions, and hand fit. The page does not mention pad work or partner drills, so this review does not infer those activities from “professional training.”

Before using any Pro size for sparring, get the coach's or gym's explicit approval. House rules, competition rules, partner safety, and the particular session take priority over a manufacturer's general guide. Do not treat the word “Pro” as a claim that a glove is competition-approved, a particular weight, or suitable for an individual boxer.

Compare the construction, not the label

The hook-and-loop cuff is a conventional single-strap arrangement. That differs from Hayabusa's separate Pro Lace model and from products with a named Dual-X closure. The available page gives no wrist splint count or system, so a shopper choosing on a specific support architecture should not assume one is present. For another meaningful contrast, the product calls its shell top-grain leather; S4 Leather says genuine leather without a grain grade, while the full-grain models in this library use that exact grade in their own product documentation.

Those comparisons do not prove that the Pro feels thinner, softer, or more supportive than another model. No such measurements or side-by-side trial is available here. They make the selection criteria more precise: exact closure, stated material grade, known padding composition, size range, and intended session.

Who should shortlist it—and what remains open

Consider the Pro when you want the maker's top-grain leather and a single hook-and-loop strap, and you can verify the right size for your training. It has clear model-level heavy-bag and sparring language, plus a large selector range. Pause if you require a full-grain shell, a specific foam formula, a known wrist-support structure, or page-level pad-work guidance; the inspected page does not establish those details.

Check that the exact offer is standard Pro Boxing Gloves rather than Pro Lace or Pro Horsehair Fight, confirm the ounce and color, compare the live package to the listing, and ask your gym about the session. The conclusion is deliberately narrow: the page supports a top-grain cowhide, single hook-and-loop Pro with 8–20 oz choices and heavy-bag/sparring language. The more specific padding, wrist architecture, and size-by-session relationship are not fully documented by the product page.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Listed glove weights8 / 10 / 12 / 14 / 16 / 18 / 20 oz
ClosureHook-and-loop strap
Outer materialtop-grain cowhide leather
Liningsilky smooth nylon lining
Attached thumbYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare the fit to your training

Use the finder to compare documented weight, closure, and use guidance; then confirm gym rules and exact seller details.

In this review